Beauty

Saving {very dry} Winter Skin

Happy Friday!

Its winter here in Western North Carolina, but I feel a little uncomfortable describing it as such- especially because it’s 71ºF today. Nevertheless, it is February, and my winter skin problems are plaguing me like its 20ºF.

I used to describe myself as someone with VERY dry skin. But after watching hours of youtube videos trying to find a solution, I realized that I just have sensitive skin. In the summer, I can go with a lightweight moisturizer and be totally fine. But in the winter, I don’t know if it’s the wind, the cold temperatures, the dry heat or all the above, but my skin gets unbearably dry.

I feel a little silly blogging about anything that could be considered “beauty,” honestly. Not because I don’t love feeling feminine, or using make-up, but because I’m cheap, low-maintenance and at 24 I am just now discovering all the crazy things make-up can do. So, I wouldn’t hardly call myself a beauty expert, but I would absolutely call myself a dry skin expert.

To save time, I’m going to give a quick list of all the things that people have told me to try, and I tried, that didn’t work. (So I took them back because I’m cheap).

-Cetaphil daily moisturizing lotion
– Up &Up version of CeraVe daily moisturizing lotion
-Organic Coconut oil
-Nivea Creme ( in the large blue tin)
-Argan oil (alone)
-Various cleansers in addition to moisturizers

These were all varying degrees of failure, some worked but were really greasy and didn’t get along with make-up (Nivea), some made my skin feel soft and moisturized at first, but by lunch my skin would flake under my foundation (all daily moisturizers/argan oil). And still others I wouldn’t make it out the door without my face feeling tight and irritated due to the dryness.

Like I said, I’ve watched a ton of youtube videos, and read equally as many product reviews, but I couldn’t find anything convincing enough to make me want to try it. I would rather stop wearing make-up and apply regular, cheapy lotion 5 times a day than buy something for $40 or buy 7 products for a 45-minute routine.

I exaggerate, but not much.

I came across my solution by accident, and I don’t know exactly what your skin-tuation is, but for me I swear by these two steps.

1. At night, on a make-up free, damp face (I don’t think it matters how you get there- cleanser, wipes, shower, what have you) I first apply Moroccan Argan oil (I got mine at Wal-Mart for $6) and I let that soak in while I brush my teeth or dry my hair.

2. I cover that with with L’oreal’s Age Perfect Hydra-Nutrition Golden Balm (it goes for $19.99 at CVS, which I know is a lot, it is for me too, but I waited until it was on sale, and I used my extra care bucks to get it for $12. It’s not free, but its my true skin-saver for under $20)

In the morning, I wake up and do exactly the same thing, I just give my skin some time to soak up the golden balm before applying make-up. For those of you curious where the spf is, I get mine in my setting spray.

And that’s it. Those two steps refresh me from a day in the elements and protects me from our dry baseboard heat at night.

I say I stumbled onto this because it’s true, it not something I would have ever gone out and purchased for myself, if you read it, the cream itself is for “mature, very dry skin”. This is not something I would have thought would be necessary for me, but I really can’t argue with the results.

(P.S. I know my fellow cheapy’s will notice there is a L’oreal Age Perfect Hydra-Nutrition moisturizer for $2 less right next tot he golden balm, and be tempted. I know this because I was yesterday when I re-stocked. I can’t speak to this because I could bring myself to buy it after having such success with the golden balm (this is the first time I’ve gone back to buy the same product more than once, and probably the first I didn’t return). I did, however, open it to realize the consistency is very different, so proceed with caution!)

I’d love to hear feedback and anyone else’s successes in dealing with dry winter skin!

Leave a Reply

