DIY

Don’t Cut Corners, Sew them !

OK, so I’m fairly new to the whole world of homemaking. My husband and I have been married for four years, but we’ve just recently moved into our first real home of our own.

Even though I haven’t been in the game very long, I am totally in love with the idea of homemaking and decorating.. or at least I was until I found out how much it cost.

I’ve done well enough to craigslist, black friday and dollar tree my way into decent decor for the majority of my house, but my big hangup has been on the floor.. looking for a rug.

I don’t care how cute it is, or how long I’m going to keep it in my house, I am physically incapable of spending $200+ on a rug. I know me and I change my mind/style/taste for too frequently for that to ever be practical.

So! I’ve looked into all kinds of cheapy  or if you want to use the nice word “frugal” solutions to my problem, like t-shirt rugs and Ikea, but I’ve not been able to get what I want.

And then I walked into Ollie’s and stumbled across this gem.M2.JPG

A rug with every color I could imagine that was sure to suite whatever random decor path I pursued. The only problem- 30″x 48″ wasn’t going to cover my living room.

After lamenting to my mother about why they couldn’t have one that looked like this in a larger size,  I decided I was going to do like I did with most things. I was going to make it work.  I picked up four and decided I was going to sew them together.

m1

It was super easy, and only took about 1 hour, although I did have help from my mother, who actually knew what she was doing with a needle while I was wildly forcing things together.

Here’s what I used:

  • (4) 30″ x  48″ rugs
  • spool of twine (depending on how big your rugs are)
  • flat upholstery needle

After I laid them out in the pattern they would be sewn together (this particular shaped rug could only be laid out one way without odd proportions), I started sewing a visible stitch down the middle of two pieces (length-ways) in what looked like a loose “m” just to conjoin the two rugs. Once I got to the end of those two, I just turned back and picked up the gaps, making what looked like an “x” pattern.

I repeated this with the other two pieces lengthwise so I was left with two sets of two rugs that had been sewn together down their long edges.

Finally, I just put the two pieces together so that their sewn seems lined up and I stitched the same “x” pattern down that ended up being the middle of the rug.

cu

Now, this close photo may show my exact measure of skill (or lack-there-of), but fortunately, I chose a forgiving pattern and had the perfect shade of twine on hand. OS once it was all finished, I was really happy with the result.

f1

It totally looks like it could have been one piece! (at least in the eye of this beholder)

I was quite happy to get it home and put it in it’s new place in my living room.. which I know looks like Christmas leftovers.finished

All-in-all it was an afternoon well spent with my mother that earned me a new rug with all of the colors I could want for $30>. That’s a win for me!

I’d love to hear about any of your frugal solutions to decorating in 2017!

 

One thought on “Don’t Cut Corners, Sew them !

Leave a Reply

